Testimonials

A selection from the over 250 Tripadvisor reviews.
To see all reviews on Tripadvisor, click here.

What a lovely place

Such a nice place to visit, I had a great time.

Good sign posting on the road. Lobby had space and soft chairs after a long day. Room was clean, tidy with everything working in it (such a change from most places I’d been). Bed soft, shower warm with an excellent view over the river. Pool was a great palce to unwind and relax. Views down over the river were good with assorted birds and animals coming down for a drink or graze.

Food was well presented and tasted wonderful. (Much better than many places I’d been to. Good location for drives to Budongo, ferry and Murchison Falls.
Owner was very helpful with all sorts of things.

Sad I only spent 4 days there. It was the best place I stayed in after 13 months in Uganda

Martin J. – Feb 2020

Best service you can get

We arrived at the lodge late evening and were very frustrated/confused because we had been cheated by our travel agency amd lost a lot of money. At Sambiya River Lodge we were welcomed with so much sympathy and helpfulness. They let us borrow their telephone since the park has no service and even gave us advice for future visits and travel agencies. They also offer nice food and have a well priced shop with hand-crafted

Would definetly recommend this lodge to anyone staying here for 1 night or even 1 month!

Måns D – Jan 2020

Great place with friendly people

I really enjoyed my stay at the lodge. The owner of the lodge and all employees were very helpful and friendly. They helped me to arrange the game drive, the boatride and even dropped me off outside the Parc where I would be picked up again by my colleagues. The location of the lodge is beautiful and very tranquille. I can really recommend this place!

Masha – Nov 2019

A wonderfull time

We were so blessed to be here at this lodge. The little bungalow was wonderful and the staff and accommodations here in the jungle was totally perfect. We even had a herd of buffaloes that hung out in the yard. Such an amazing getaway from everything!!! You will not be disappointed 😊😊😊

Jgh – Aug 2019

The best hospitality and customer service in Uganda

This was by far our most personable and hospitable experience during our 2 weeks stay in Uganda. So friendly that even the buffalos hang around on some days. Everyone was up early to cook breakfast for us and send us on our early morning game drive – all with a smile. George the UWA ranger was an amazing guide, navigator, storyteller, journey planer and also the best we met throughout our trip. Zinabu is still raving about George to all his friends back in Ethiopia! The food was also very good .. particularly the french onion soup on the first night! Thank you so much for a lovely stay. I thoroughly recommend this lodge and will do to my friends as well.

Holly L. – Aug 2019

Thank you from Finland

 

Thank you for the warm welcome and service during the stay of our two safari teams. We enjoyed the lodge being located in midst of the beautiful nature, with wild buffalos and a huge baboon around. The bonfire in the evening was enhanting, and the food we enjoyed very lovely and healthy. The hike along the nearby Murchinson Falls was extraordinary.

Katariina – Aug 2019

Best place to stay if you want to see the falls at dusk

Ideally suited for visiting the top of the falls. Also the UWA ranger George is superb – recommend a trip with him.

If you are going for a longer trip to Murchison, this is a good place to stay for checking out the southern side of the river.
The landscape is very different each side of the river, and it is worth spending time on both sides.

Joshua P. – Aug 2019

Our best lodge experience!

We were amazed to experience this level of confort while truly feeling in contact with nature. A buffalo family lives in the garden and you can see wild animals when relaxing near the pool or enjoying a wonderfully cooked dinner. The safari guide working with this lodge was by far the most interesting we met during our trip and everything felt perfect, including the incredible gift shop Debby provides with handcraft from Kenyan and Ugandan markets.

The personal touch felt in every detail and the quality of service makes this secluded paradise built by Debby and her husband feel like a home that you’ll never want to leave! We would love to come back again. Thank you again. Sophie and Nicolas

sophlecoq – Aug 2019

SPLENDID CUSTOMER SERVICE & GREAT FOOD!

After a long drive in the park, Sambiya River Lodge felt like home! Haven’t seen a lodge in the middle of the park that welcomes you with an ice-cold glass on Juice!
I was amazed by the ambiance, the rooms are clean and the chief is amazing!
I recommend the green pea Soup!
Thank you for hosting us!
Debbie and the staff are amazing!!

Rachel – Jun 2019

Great choice in Murchison

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was everything we needed. The rooms were well kept and clean and the food at night was fantastic too. They took great care of us here. One thing to note is that electricity is only from 7-10pm so plan accordingly. It didn’t really bother us because it is such beautiful surroundings and by night time we were all exhausted anyways!

Millie N – Jun 2019

Great stay near Murchison!

This was our second stay at Sambiya and the experience was, once again, wonderful. Debbie and her staff are very attentive to their guests and the accommodations were great. Our mission team had been in Lira for a couple of weeks and the time at the lodge was our R&R before heading home. Food was great. The variety of wildlife passing close to the lodge is always a treat. 30 min. to the river for the Nile boat ride or ferry crossing for the AM wildlife tour. This will always be our go-to location and tremendous $ saving over Paraa Lodge.
Thanks Debbie! Hope you are recovered from your health challenges.

Dale R – Apr 2019

Paradise in Uganda

After driving for an hour in the middle of the Uganda jungle, you will find the Sambiya River Lodge. It truly is paradise, with a great environment, atmosphere and friendly people. Wild life is running about and after a great meal you can really emerge yourself with nature by the campfire. Assisted by the staff, they will help you spot curious creatures running about and facilitate you in every way that you like.

Visit Sambiya River Lodge if you want to experience Uganda at its best. Secluded, safe and luxurious.

Cor Blom – Mar 2019

Murchison Falls National Park Lodge

I stayed at the Sambiya lodge for three nights 2- 4 of Feb 2019, the Lodge is very handy for the top side of Murchison falls (12 km) and a 30-40 min journey to the ferry and boat trips which take up the Victoria Nile towards the falls or the other way to Lake Albert. I found the accommodation very clean and comfortable the food was also very acceptable and the staff were at all times helpful and courteous, the only negative was lack of wifi but hey do we need it when your in a beautiful place like the Sambiya lodge and your there to escape everyday life and relax

Bob M – Feb 2019

A lifetime’s dream come true at the most welcoming & comfortable Sambiya River lodge

Everything you could possibly wish for in a safari lodge. Debra and Staff were most helpful & friendly – very genuine people. Right in the Murchison Park with great views, wildlife and all the amenities we needed. We received excellent advice and information regarding safaris, Nile Cruises and where to see animals within the park. We could not have been happier!

cathy364 – Feb 2019

Pleasant stay at a comfortable and welcoming lodge

We had a lovely stay at Sambiya Lodge during our visit to Murchison Falls.. Debbie and her staff went out of their way to look after us. they noticed my husband wasn’t well and came over to offer help, including cooking him a lighter meal on request. A shame, as the meals were excellent. The verandah in the main building is a lovely place to sit and look over the gardens.

Littleollie – Jan 2019

A very quiet and nice place

We where a family with 2 small kids and 3 friends. Sambiya River Lodge is situated in a so very quite place. The personal is so amiable and the owner is really lovely. The food was excellent! We had a problem with our booking but they arranged everything in 10 minutes. The place is very clean!! We will comeback!

Melissa – Dec 2018

Wonderful Experience!

Debbie and all the staff at Sambiya River Lodge were very welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived. They were genuinely interested in our daily activities and offered fabulous suggestions and advice.

The lodge is situated in an ideal location being close to Murchison Falls which was amazing and for our safari trip on the North bank which was a short ferry crossing across the Nile river.

Safe place to stay and Banda hut very clean and tidy with lovely luxury towels.
Good variety of food which would suit everyone. We particularly enjoyed pancakes and French toast with maple syrup for breakfast! Fish curry was also a favourite!

Debbie advised us to book a boat trip and a safari with the Ugandan wildlife Authority, so the money would benefit the National park. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and made it a wonderful memorable experience. She also advised that we should go on a jungle walk which we hadn’t ordinally planned to do. It was amazing! Great suggestion.

Would highly recommend this accommodation for its wonderful staff, outstanding service and beautiful surroundings. A trip we will never forget!

Sandra Lyon – Aug 2018

Preserving standards and more

We loved this Lodge, it manages to preserve appearance and standards across all areas. The rooms are from another, almost colonial era, the food is a bit up and down – one night a first rate Fish curry, the next not so good but the ambiance and whole effect is memorable. We enjoyed sitting out at dusk, watching the buffaloes, listening to birdsong and sipping a sundowner.
The Lodge lies in the NP so electricity is rationed, so to speak, but, hey, you don’t go to this part of the world for wifi and bright lights.
We would say, go now and experience a Lodge with some character before they became standardised.

Truediamond – Oct 2018

QUIET AND CLEAN HOTEL

A very quiet and neat place to stay while in Murchison Falls National Park, close to the famous falls and lots of birds. Buffaloes are common sights just within compounds. Beds are clean, the bar is well stocked and food is good

Wanderer677356 – Oct 2018

Feeling like home in the jungle! Very kind staff, tasty food.

This lodge is located away from the busy part of the Murchison NP. It’s calm and relaxed with view over the Sambiya river banks where buffalos, baboons and warthogs are grazing, but no mosquitos! Only 15 minutes drive to the falls and 25-30 to the ferry. An economic choice for those who prefer a quiet place. Families are warmly welcome. The rooms are simple, but clean and the refreshing pool is a must after a long game drive. The restaurant offers a variety of local and international dishes. Plus an extra is the very friendly and helpful staff!

István – Jul 2018

Warm and welcoming

We spent a very relaxing two nights in Sambiya Lodge. Firstly it is located in the beautiful and breathtaking Murchison Falls National Park. Being immersed in nature and among the local wildlife gave us a needed break from work and a change of environment. At Sambiya Lodge Debbie and the staff gave us a warm welcome and took care of us and answered all of our questions and arranged a lovely stay for us. The pool was a great place to relax after having seen all the sights in the day.
Debbie is a wealth of knowledge of the area and also proved to be a great contact for us with our professional work. Thanks everyone at Sambiya Lodge. Hope to visit again!

Virginia L – Jul 2018

See all (over 250) reviews on Tripadvisor